Garrett County Government


The County is governed by an elected Board of County Commissioners (the "Board"), whose three members serve four-year terms and must live in the District which they represent. The Board may exercise only such powers as are conferred by the General Assembly of Maryland.

The County is administered under a line organizational method, with the County Administrator responsible for the general administration of County Government. The administration of the County is centralized with the County Administrator responsible for overseeing the financial planning, annual budget process, personnel management, and direction and management of operations within the organization.

The Board of County Commissioners address is:
203 South Fourth Street - Room 207
Oakland, Maryland  21550
301-334-5000 Fax
The Board of County Commissioners Staff includes:
R. Lamont Pagenhardt
County Administrator and Director of Human Resources
Gorman E. Getty, III
County Attorney
Carol A. Riley-Alexander
Executive Assistant

County Commissioners Announce Public Meeting Agenda

The Board of County Commissioners Announce the Public Meeting Agenda for Wednesday, October 22, 2014 beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Oct 17, 2014 at 2:32pm

Norma C. Hesen - Garrett County's Most Beautiful Person 2014

Norma Hesen has been chosen for this year's Garrett County's Most Beautiful Person. .

Oct 9, 2014 at 9:27am

Maryland Department of Transportation Consolidated Transportation Program Meeting Scheduled

The Maryland Department of Transportation has scheduled the annual Consolidated Transportation Program meeting for Friday, October 17, 2014 beginning at 10:00 a.m. located at the GC Courthouse.

Oct 8, 2014 at 1:29pm