Mountain Maryland Energy Advisory Committee

April 16, 2014, 3:00 p.m., Garrett Information Enterprise Center, McHenry, Maryland

Meeting Minutes

Committee members attending: Mike Koch, Tim Carney, Jim Torrington, Paul Durham, Dr. Ed Gates, Jo Gilman, Mike Dreisbach, Eric Guthrie, Bob Sutton, Dr. Stephen Hartlaub, David Dorsey, Rodney Glotfelty

Others attending: Jeff Simcoe, Cheryl DeBerry, Andrea Varrato, Jeff Harris, John Emerick, Paul Shogren

Approval of March meeting minutes (Attachment A):

A motion was made by Mike Dreisbach, seconded by Paul Durham, to approve the minutes. The motion was passed by a majority of the vote.

Present In-Review process, break into sub-groups to discuss strategy and to assign tasks:

Due to a delay in the arrival of David Fricke, Jeff Simcoe led the In-Review process discussion following the approval of the March minutes. Mr. Simcoe gave a short legislative update and reviewed the tasks charged to each subcommittee. Subcommittees include the Solarize Mountain Maryland residential solar initiative subcommittee, the commercial biomass boilers/solar feasibility study for the CARC subcommittee, and the passive house initiative/local property tax credit for renewables and energy conservation devices subcommittee. Mr. Simcoe discussed the In-Review process form and how it will be used by the committee during this portion of the ideas review process (*Attachment B*).

Presentation from David Fricke, owner of Eco Electric:

David Fricke presented a PowerPoint to the committee (<u>Attachment C</u>). Mr. Fricke discussed energy-saving lighting retrofits that could be viable options for Garrett and Allegany counties. He detailed a variety of energy saving techniques, and gave a brief overview of the financial feasibility of retrofit implementation for the commercial sector. Committee members and Mr. Fricke discussed several ideas that were of interest to the committee, including local biomass and solar initiatives.

Public comment:

Public comment has been captured in an audio recording (Attachment D).

Adjourn:

A motion was made by Stephen Hartlaub, seconded by David Dorsey, to adjourn the meeting at 5:00pm.