Skip to Content
Garrett County, Maryland Seal
Garrett County Government
301.334.8970 | [email protected]

Six Maryland Schools to be Awarded "Blue Ribbon" status State Superintendent to Announce State Honorees

Last Updated on Dec 6, 2013 at 2:43pm | Board of Commissioners

Six Maryland Schools To Be Awarded "Blue Ribbon" Status
State Superintendent To Announce State Honorees

For Immediate Release                                   
Contact: Darla Strouse, 410-767-0370 or William Reinhard, 410-767-0486
Baltimore, MD (December 6, 2013) 
WHO:    State Superintendent of Schools Lillian M. Lowery
              Educators from Six Maryland Schools and School Systems
WHAT:   A surprise announcement as schools from Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Garrett,                  Montgomery, and Prince George’s Counties will be named as recipients of Maryland’s 2014 Blue Ribbon School Award.  
WHEN:    9:30 a.m., Wednesday, December 11
WHERE:  State Board Room - Seventh Floor
                Maryland State Department of Education
                200 W. Baltimore Street
                 Baltimore, MD  21201
WHY:   The Blue Ribbon Schools Program is a state and national program that recognizes and honors schools that exhibit high performance and/or significant improvement in reading and mathematics achievement as measured by Maryland’s assessments.  Schools must meet rigorous standards developed by the Maryland State Department of Education and the U.S. Department of Education.  These schools are all high achievers in reading and mathematics, and many serve a significant number of economically disadvantaged students. Other achievement indicators include school leadership, professional development, instructional approaches, and parent and community involvement. Maryland can select up to six schools for recognition, based on its school-age population.  The Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools go on to compete for National Blue Ribbon Awards, which will be announced by the U.S. Department of Education next September.