Skip to Content
Garrett County, Maryland Seal
Garrett County Government
301.334.8970 |

Garrett County Commissioners Sworn-In

Last Updated on Dec 30, 2022 at 8:40am | Communications Office
On Tuesday, December 20, 2022, Paul Edwards, Larry Tichnell, and Ryan Savage were sworn-in to the Board of Garrett County Commissioners by Bill Bittinger.
Paul Edwards will continue to serve as the Chairman of the Board.
The following items were discussed:
  • The County Administrator, Kevin Null, was reappointed for another 4-year team
  • The County Attorney, Gorman E. Getty III, was reappointed for another 4-year team
  • All existing county policies and procedures are reaffirmed.
  • An announcement that Steve Kelley has been hired as the Director of Planning and Community Development
Commissioner Tichnell said, “Thank you all for coming out and supporting us. Ryan, I look forward to the next four years with you and welcome you to the board. We’re here for the people. If you have anything you want to discuss with us, you can call any one of us and we’ll try to take care of it.”
Commissioner Savage said, “I thank everyone for the support. Joining this group of commissioners, with the experience they have and their willingness to help me learn, is huge. I’m ready for the challenge and I think we will work well together.”
Commissioner Edwards said, “We have a great group of employees. It’s important that we work together or we’re not going to get anything done. We are not always going to agree on everything but one thing I can assure you of, we will listen to you, and we will have a conversation as we try to tackle the challenges over the next four years.”
A link to the recorded meeting broadcast can be found at:
The next meeting of Board of Garrett County Commissioners is scheduled for Monday, January 9, 2022 at 4:00 p.m.

Public issues or concerns that are to be presented to the Board of Garrett County Commissioners during any Public Meeting should be scheduled with Carol A. Riley-Alexander, Executive Assistant to the Board of County Commissioners/County Administrator, by 11:00 p.m. on Monday one week prior to the Public Meeting Day.