Skip to Content

Planning Commission

The Garrett County Planning Commission is composed of nine members appointed by the Garrett County Commissioners.   A primary duty of the Planning Commission is the development of the County’s Comprehensive Plan. The Planning Commission ensures that the goals and objectives of the Comprehensive Plan are carried out by serving in an advisory role in the development and implementation of all County land use ordinances, regulations and policies.  The Planning Commission also provides advisory opinions concerning the Deep Creek Watershed Zoning Ordinance and, along with Planning & Land Management staff, administers the Garrett County Subdivision Ordinance by reviewing all major subdivision applications and waiver requests.
The Garrett County Planning Commission typically meets on the first Wednesday of every month.  Meeting agendas, minutes and recordings can be found under the pull down menu at left.

Tony Doerr- Chairman
Jeffery Conner- Vice Chairman
Jeff Messenger- Secretary
Jim Hinebaugh- Ex Officio
Tim Schwinabart
Elizabeth Georg
Bill Weissgerber
Bruce Swift- Alternate
Shelley Argabrite - Second Alternate
Annual Reports