BOARD OF GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSIONERS PUBLIC MEETING

Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Meeting was also Live Streamed at https://www.facebook.com/garrettcountygovernment/

IN ATTENDANCE

Chairman Paul C. Edwards Commissioner James C. Hinebaugh Commissioner S. Larry Tichnell

County Administrator Kevin G. Null

ADMINISTRATIVE SESSION

1. Mr. Null reviewed a number of administrative, non-privileged personnel, and managerial matters under his authority and jurisdiction with the Board of County Commissioners.

CALL TO ORDER OF PUBLIC SESSION at 4:05 PM

PRAYER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE - Invocation by Commissioner Tichnell

PUBLIC SESSION

- 1. Mr. Null indicated there was no addition or deletion to the Public Meeting Agenda. The Board of County Commissioners, on a motion by Commissioner Hinebaugh, which was seconded by Commissioner Tichnell, and made unanimous by Chairman Edwards, approved the Public Meeting Agenda for June 22, 2021.
- 2. The Board of County Commissioners, on a motion by Commissioner Tichnell, which was seconded by Commissioner Hinebaugh, and made unanimous by Chairman Edwards, approved the Public Meeting Minutes of June 7, 2021.

3. Garrett County Commission for Women - Update

Lisa Thayer Welch, Commission Chair, provided an update on the Commission's activities and the recent Garrett County Commission for Women Hall of Fame Inductees and scholarship winners (List Attached)

The Commission promotes service and activities on issues effecting Garrett County women. The Commission will provide more direct communications to the Board of County Commissioners and requested that one Commissioner be assigned as the Commission Liaison/contact person.

Ms. Thayer Welch also requested the Board of County Commissioners to accept the resignation of Ms. Rachel Bruch. The resignation was accepted.

4. The Garrett County Purchasing Department presented the following recommendations:

Bid #21-0520MO - Motor Oil and Grease

Two (2) Bids and One (1) late Bid was received for this Bid: Bruceton Petroleum Co. and Oakland Oil.

After reviewing the Bids for compliance with administrative requirements and based on the feedback from the Department of Public Works – Roads Division, the Garrett County Purchasing Department recommended awarding the Bid to Bruceton Petroleum Co. Specifics of the award for type of product are on file with the Purchasing Department.

Bid #21-0520F - Fuel

Three (3) Bids were received for this Bid: Oakland Oil, Bruceton Petroleum Co., Inc., and Mansfield Oil of Gainesville.

After reviewing the Bids for compliance with administrative requirements and based on the feedback from the Department of Public Works – Roads Division, the Garrett County Purchasing Department recommended awarding the Bid to Oakland Oil & Propane. Specifics of the award for type of product are on file with the Purchasing Department.

A representative from Bruceton Petroleum was present and stated that the company has protested awarding the Bid on several grounds; including how Oakland Oil calculated mark-up and where fuel was being purchased from. The representative also stated that after reviewing several invoices, Oakland Oil was overcharging the County.

The protest has been reviewed by the County Attorney and was denied. Notification was emailed to Bruceton Petroleum. The County is reviewing billing by Oakland Oil.

The Board of County Commissioners, on a motion by Commissioner Hinebaugh, which was seconded by Commissioner Tichnell, and made unanimous by Chairman Edwards, approved the Bid Awards as recommended.

- 5. **PUBLIC COMMENTARY**: None
- 6. The Board of Garrett County Commissioners announced that the next Public Meeting will be held on Tuesday, July 6, 2021, at 4:00 p.m. at the Garrett County Courthouse.

ADJOURNMENT: The Board of County Commissioners, on a motion by Commissioner Hinebaugh, which was seconded by Commissioner Tichnell, and made unanimous by Chairman Edwards, adjourned the Public Meeting at 4:21 P.M.

Attest:	By Order of the Board,
KEVIN G. NULL	PAUL C. EDWARDS, Chairman
County Administrator	Board of County Commissioners

GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSION FOR WOMEN HALL OF FAME

2020 HONOREES

Cynthia Downton Jane Fox Ruth Cecilia Keller (posthumously)

2020 WOMEN OF TOMORROW AWARD RECIPIENT

Lauren Jacobs

2020 GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSION FOR WOMEN'S \$500 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS:

Bethany Rae Evans Lauryn Marie Moon Christie M. Reckart Jenna Nicole Yommer

2020 MAUREEN R. SHARPS SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT

Sydney Elissa Friend

2021 HONOREES

Judy Albers Carbone Linda Edwards Susan Newton

2021 WOMEN OF TOMORROW AWARD RECIPIENT

Lilah Schmidt

2021 GARRETT COUNTY COMMISSION FOR WOMEN'S \$500 SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS:

Bethany Rae Evans Jeannie Frazee Tori Rose Neece Jenna Ning Griffith Newlin Sara Marie Sweitzer

2021 MAUREEN R. SHARPS SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENT

Kassandra Rae Green